I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Emergency Loans

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

Administered by:

US Federal Government Agency (see all agencies)
Department of Agriculture , Farm Service Agency
CFDA #: 10.404

Who is eligible to apply...

Requires that an applicant: (a) Not have caused a loss to the Agency after April 4, 1996, or received debt forgiveness on no more than 1 occasion prior to April 4, 1996. (b) be an established family farmer, rancher, or aquaculture operator (either tenant-operator or owner-operator), who was conducting a farming operation at the time of occurrence of the disaster either as an individual proprietorship, a partnership, a cooperative, a corporation, or a joint operation; (c) have suffered qualifying crop loss and/or physical property damage caused by a designated natural disaster; (d) be a citizen of the United States or legal resident alien, or be operated by citizens and/or resident aliens owning over a 50 percent interest of the farming entity; (e) be unable to obtain suitable credit from any other source(s) to qualify for subsidized loss loans; (f) have sufficient training or farming experience in managing and operating a farm or ranch (1 year's complete production and marketing cycle within the last 5 years immediately preceding the application); (g) be able to realistically project a feasible and sound plan of operation; (h) be a capable manager of the farming, ranching, or aquaculture operations (in the case of a cooperative, corporation, partnership or joint operation, if members, stockholders, partners or joint operators own a majority interest and are related by blood or marriage, at least one member, stockholder, partner or joint operator must operate the family farm; if not related, the majority interest holder(s) must operate the family farm); (I) have legal capacity to contract for the loan; (j) obtain eligibility certification; (k) provide adequate collateral to secure the loan request; (l) have crop insurance if available for affected crops comply with the highly erodible land and wetland conservation provisions of Public Law 99-198 (16 U.S.C. 3801 et seq.), (Title 12 and 13) the Food Security Act of 1985 and the Food, Agriculture, Conservation, and Trade Act of 1990. Applicants who cannot meet all of these requirements are not eligible. Assistance is available in the 50 States, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands of the United States, Guam, American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and, to the extent the Secretary determines it to be feasible and appropriate, the Trust Territories of the Pacific Islands, when those areas (by county) are designated.

Eligible Applicant Categories:
Eligible Functional Categories:

Applicants must establish that substantial physical property damage and/or severe production losses, caused by the designated natural disaster, has occurred. To qualify for loss loans, the applicant must be unable to get credit elsewhere and demonstrate repayment ability on the loan. This program is excluded from coverage under OMB Circular No. A-87.

Note:This is a brief description of the credentials or documentation required prior to, or along with, an application for assistance.

About this section:

This section indicates who can apply to the Federal government for assistance and the criteria the potential applicant must satisfy. For example, individuals may be eligible for research grants, and the criteria to be satisfied may be that they have a professional or scientific degree, 3 years of research experience, and be a citizen of the United States. Universities, medical schools, hospitals, or State and local governments may also be eligible. Where State governments are eligible, the type of State agency will be indicated (State welfare agency or State agency on aging) and the criteria that they must satisfy.

Certain federal programs (e.g., the Pell Grant program which provides grants to students) involve intermediate levels of application processing, i.e., applications are transmitted through colleges or universities that are neither the direct applicant nor the ultimate beneficiary. For these programs, the criteria that the intermediaries must satisfy are also indicated, along with intermediaries who are not eligible.